Wine Review – Apothic 2008 “Red”

           

Will the Apothic get along well with this lamb chop?

Here’s a wine I received for review from the nice folks at Hunter Public Relations (thanks, Christine!).  It’s called Apothic Red, from the 2008 vintage and is a blend of Syrah, Zinfandel and Merlot.  I tasted this last night both without food and then with the accompaniment of this lamb chop and noodles.  While listening to Sirius Radio and one of my favorites, The Ed Show, I reviewed my WSET tasting sheet (I have a form you can download here). 

WSET Level 3 Tasting Sheet

And here are some of the highlights.  Print out the WSET form and taste along with your wine choice for today!

Appearance refers to clarity, intensity and “colour” (remember, this is a London based program!)

The appearance is definitely clear as opposed to dull.  The intensity range on the WSET sheet goes from water-white to opaque; the Apothic falls around the medium range.  Color I would describe as ruby; one of the lighter reds I have observed recently.

It’s a clean, medium intense Nose.  The main aromas I am detecting are candy; maybe a candy cane, and strawberries. 

Palate is the most detailed section of the WSET form.  Among the categories listed here are sweetness, acidity, tannin, alcohol, body, mousse (much more often found in sparkling wines), flavor intensity and characteristics, and length of the finish.  Are you still tasting the wine even after you swallow?  That’s the indication of a wine’s finish.

The Apothic comes across as unusually sweet for a red wine; suggesting to me that the Zinfandel is the largest part of the mix.  The standout portion of the wine is the acidity, unfortunately, there’s little in the way of tannins or body.  It’s more of a fruit punch texture; mostly red cherry and strawberry is what I was detecting on my palate, along with some violets.  I give it credit for a longer than average finish, about twelve seconds, but what flavors lingered were pretty simple.

It’s a nice sipping wine; good for picnic sipping, but didn’t add much to the lamb chop I prepared.  And I am curious about the blend; you almost never see these three grapes combined in a single wine, actually it’s pretty rare to see any two of these combined.

My Conclusions are that this is an acceptable wine (roughly a two on a one-to-five scale).  The suggested list is $14.00, which I would suggest is much too high for something this basic.

One thought on “Wine Review – Apothic 2008 “Red”

Leave a Reply

